Leave a comment

Manning Down

In Deb Jones’ book, The Focused Puppy, she has an exercise called “manning down”.  You hold the puppy in your lap until they relax and settle into it without fighting.  Every evening Jill works on this, and every evening, Ander hates it.  “I want to play!  I don’t want to be a good puppy!”

Many afternoons we’ve been working on his beginning retrieve skills.  I finally got it on video.  He works for roast chicken for this.  He’ll do just about anything for roast chicken!

He also likes to torture the cats.  The cats just take it, so I have to step in and stop the torture!

11 weeks

11 weeks

I’ve cut back on his evening training sessions – making them shorter and with fewer behaviors to work on.  We didn’t play as much tonight either – I’m still learning the balance and I didn’t balance this evening very well.  He’s much easier to train than I am. And I’m so excited that he’s really getting the paw touch without help!  Go Ander!

Leave a Reply

